This community is in archive. Visit community.xprize.org for the current XPRIZE Community.

Introductions

Please introduce yourself to the rest of the community here. Tell us a bit about yourself, your projects and your relation to XPRIZE.

Comments

• DanSelzDanSelz Posts: 60 admin
    Hi All, I'm Dan Selz, I work at XPRIZE on the Impact & Design Team and am excited to be part of the team spearheading the design of this prize! Please feel free to reach out and introduce yourself and let me know how I can help.
  • Charles GregoryCharles Gregory Posts: 2 ✭✭
    Hi,
    I'm Dr Charlie Gregory an aquatic specialized veterinarian. I've been growing coral since 1990 and have a masters degree on aquaculture. Ive grown coral commercially for the aquarium trade exploring chemistry, physical needs, and diseases. Now I work for a non profit that grows corals in schools. We are just finishing building a research and seedbank coral facility with lights and monitoring to support natural spawning cycles.
  • anupaanupa Posts: 10 XPRIZE
    I'm Anupa Asokan and I work at XPRIZE on the Ocean Initiative team. I look forward to your input and feedback as we design this prize to help save coral reefs!
  • I am Victor Jongeneel. I am a molecular and computational biologist by training, and now that I am retired I have become involved in coral restoration efforts on the island of Curacao, where I live. I was one of the members of the Scientific Advisory Board for the Archon Genomics X-Prize, back in 2010-2011, so I have a pretty good understanding of the processes involved in designing and running an X-Prize challenge. Btw, the Genomics X-Prize was not awarded, because the potential competitors were concerned about the negative publicity they could receive if they didn't win the prize. In any case, I hope that I can bring my practical experience with growing corals in nurseries and outplanting them on damaged reefs to help design this new Grand Challenge.
  • aje191aje191 Posts: 3 ✭✭